Home > Uncategorized > The immaculate approval

The immaculate approval

October 14, 2013

I’m calling shenanigans on the recent batch of policy updates that were supposedly approved by the Red Clay board last summer. I wrote about this as the documents began their journey through the approval process: Massive document dump from Red Clay’s BPRC

Red Clay now has a published policy (9002 – Parental Involvement) which it firmly insists is approved, but which was partially updated AFTER its printed approval date, with:

NO record of first public reading
NO record of second public reading
NO record of a Board vote on the updates
NO record of the policy updates appearing on the Board agenda.

9002 in particular caught my eye, and that is the one I am tracking. But I believe there are other allegedly “approved” policies in the same undocumented limbo. 9002 currently states that it was last approved on 7/7/2010. However, the document’s internal properties show it had been edited on 7/25/2013, and there were some significant changes.

So I contacted the Red Clay office and asked when the changes to 9002 were approved. The first answer was that they were reviewed by the BPRC (Board Policy Review Committee), and Board-approved over the summer. So I dutifully pored over the minutes of the BPRC, and could not find a mention of 9002. Which was odd, because I had been tracking BPRC activities and had attended the meetings (I missed one though). The summer Board minutes also had no reference to 9002.

Puzzled, I contacted my Red Clay source again, who robustly insisted the Board had approved 9002 at its July 10 meeting. So I went to the minutes for July 10, and here were some policies approved, but no mention of 9002.

Now completely baffled, I asked my source about this. They doubled down and insisted 9002 was approved on July 10, but was on another list of policies that did not appear in the minutes.

Another list that didn’t appear in the minutes? Sorry, that’s a bridge too far. Bad recordkeeping, or shenanigans? I may have to invoke Gray’s Law on this one:

“Any sufficiently advanced incompetence is indistinguishable from malice.”

  1. delawareway
    October 17, 2013 at 12:34 pm

    good work Mike!

  2. kilroysdelaware
    October 18, 2013 at 10:13 am

    Hey Mr. Wizard? When are you going to fix that side bard “Recent Comments” 🙂 😉

  3. kilroysdelaware
    October 18, 2013 at 10:14 am

    that was side bar !

  4. October 18, 2013 at 11:08 am

    Well, now that I’ve got some recent comments I guess Id better look into it… 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
