Home > Uncategorized > Students in the mist

Students in the mist

May 10, 2013

Oh Lord:

In addition, the district transported its school staff through the feeder neighborhoods of the students so that the staff can witness the diverse lives and experiences of our children and families outside of school. (from Red Clay RTTT success plan)

Did this really happen?

  1. Coolspringer
    May 10, 2013 at 8:10 pm

    Haha…I can see what you mean. However, I think teacher to student home visits (I know Pulaski does this) are actually a meaningful form of outreach.

  2. May 10, 2013 at 8:24 pm

    Thanks, Coolspringer!. I’m still getting the picture of a bus driving through neighborhoods, not to them. I guess it was just an inartful phrase. Probably it was home visits, as you suggest.

    By the way, the tour-bus image and the attitude it suggests is NOT consistent with what I know of Red Clay’s efforts to engage low-income families. That’s why it stood out to me.

  3. kilroysdelaware
    May 11, 2013 at 3:33 pm

    Reblogged this on Kilroy's delaware.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
