Home > Uncategorized > What Component 5 did for me (maybe)

What Component 5 did for me (maybe)

February 19, 2013

For the most part, I agree with the criticisms of Component 5, especially with the idea of non-Math/ELA teachers sharing in accountability for subjects they don’t teach. But let me just share my own anecdote, which is admittedly unscientific and possibly not completely fair.

If you’ve been reading me, you know for years I’ve mostly despaired of getting my son’s teachers to send me his assignments in advance, in fulfilment of the policy in the Red Clay Parent Handbook:

Each school in the Red Clay Consolidated School District has the obligation to present to students and parents written homework assignments.

Is that clear enough?

It is obvious to me parents need this information in order to become engaged with their child’s homework, which is a huge predictor and determinant of educational success.

I’ve asked teachers to simply enter the assignments in their electronic gradebook (eSchoolPLUS) before they are due instead of after, where I can immediately see them in the Home Access Center. That seems to be the easiest way to do it, and they eventually have to do anyway when they grade the assignment. I have heard all sorts of reasons why this can’t be done, but for the most part, the teachers just look at me as though I had asked them to flap their arms and fly to the Moon.

But this year, the year teachers started to have some accountability for the ELA and Math scores, things are different. This year, two of my son’s teachers religiously publish their assignments in advance, while the others do not. The two teachers? The ELA and Math teachers.

  1. John Young
    February 19, 2013 at 7:26 am

    Mike,

    It’s really hard to say what is causing this behavior.

    Perhaps it’s Merv lighting up your child’s teacher because you blog, or the DOE calling in a favor. Maybe last year’s teachers just hated your child, and you. My guess it’s random, like how this mountain range’s shape causes spikes and dips in the murder rate: http://www.businessweek.com/magazine/correlation-or-causation-12012011-gfx.html

    You’re probably in for a bumpy ride with this eSchool homework thing. Oh, don’t forget that Businessweek is respected and irrefutable as a source on this.

  2. February 20, 2013 at 4:12 pm

    If accountability results in a home-school communications breakthrough, I”m for it.

  3. John Young
    February 20, 2013 at 9:42 pm

    If it’s accountability based on testing that harms kids in the process of enhancing home-school communications, I’m against it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
