Home > Uncategorized > Vision 2015 conference October 17

Vision 2015 conference October 17

September 26, 2012

I just registered for the Vision 2015 conference on October 17 at Clayton Hall, all day (7:30-4:00). Registration is $25 and includes lunch.

Main conference page | Registration page | Conference program brochure

Whatever you think about Vision 2015, the afternoon sessions look like amazing opportunities to learn some developing information that has not been previously shared with the public. In fact I want to go to all three of the concurrent 1:30-2:30 sessions, and I am distressed I have to choose one 🙂

If anybody might want to go and take notes on one or more of the afternoon sessions, please contact me at mike01@seventhtype.com.

Here’s an overall summary from the program brochure:

District leaders, principals, teachers, and others will share their work related to Common Core implementation, parent engagement, data use, personalized learning, and other critical topics. Attendees will explore how to replicate and expand on the successes already underway – right here in Delaware.

Right up my alley, I’m hoping.

Here are the three 1:30-2:30 afternoon sessions:

1. RAISING THE BAR: Implications of the Common Core Standards
Designed for all stakeholder groups. This session will provide context on and explore
implications of the Common Core Standards – for students, teachers, universities, and
other stakeholders. The discussion will also explore what is on the horizon in terms of
Common Core, and how schools in Delaware are rolling out implementation.

Participants TBD

2. EMPOWERMENT: Schools that “Get It:” Examples of meaningful parent engagement
Designed for teachers, parents, administrators, school leaders, community leaders,
and policy-makers.

Participants:
Tracey Roberts, Pulaski Elementary School, Christina School
District
Ashley Gray, Brandywine School District
Michele Murphy, Indian River School District
Frederika Jenner, President, DSEA (invited)

3. INNOVATION: Transforming Data into Action for Schools and Students
Designed for teachers, parents, administrators, school leaders, and policy-makers.
District and school representatives will reflect on and react to a Professional
Learning Community (PLC) demonstration. PLCs allow district officials, school
leaders, teachers, and other staff to collaborate and make data-driven decisions.
The PLC participants in this session will explore the various ways data can be used,
such as to build student accountability/ownership, to support instructional
strategies and meet individual students’ needs, to ease the transition between
middle and high schools, to look at progress on RTTT and other state-wide
initiatives, to support parent-teacher and principal-teacher conferences, and to
support college/workforce readiness planning. The list goes on and on!

Participants TBD

  1. John Young
    September 26, 2012 at 10:52 am

    Mike,

    Good luck,. I see the price was cut in half, probably due to their significantly declining year over year attendance. It was a snooze fest in 2009.

    From what I can see, this year’s even is set up to deliver the same non result: zero actionable takeaways, just some idea bantering with a heaping dose of self congratulatory, vanity driven (Mr. Herdman’s breakout) topics that will not help one teacher do one thing better for our kids.

    I mean just look at Mr. Murphy’s section.

    As a parent, I would ask, would you want your child’s teacher or principal to skip school (this is on a school day) for this? I know my answer: hell no.

  2. John Young
    September 26, 2012 at 10:54 am

    Reblogged this on Transparent Christina and commented:
    I see the price has been cut in half. I wonder why? Not.

  3. September 26, 2012 at 10:58 am

    I was willing to put $25 into it to find out. I did notice that they still don’t have all the panelists lined up. When you register they make you choose which session you will attend, so I suspect that everybody will choose the session that has panelists, and the other sessions will be dropped for low enrollment.

  4. Coolspringer
    September 26, 2012 at 11:01 am

    I’ve gone for the past 3 years and it’s always been illuminating and good networking, for sure. Looking forward to it again. I actually forget which sessions I signed up for…I think the Empowerment in the first and Raising the Bar in the second…?

  5. Arthur
    September 26, 2012 at 11:23 am

    Wasnt the original name of this Vision 2012? When did they change it to 2015 and when will they change it to Vision 2018?

  6. John Young
    September 26, 2012 at 11:29 am

    @coolspringer There’s one of my issues. It’s held during the day so it is impractical to have educators there, and the networking value is negligible when measured by impact on student achievement, which is my yardstick.

    Arthur has it dead on: it’s a conference of goal post movers, wallowing in their own policies trying to make themselves feel good. I found it sad in 2009. So sad, I haven’t returned.

    Mike, I agree the price drop makes it more attractive. they need to fill the seats after last year, turnout was embarrassingly low, but I think they are missing the real problem of low turnout: putting together a good product. This year’s agenda says one thing to me: mediocrity plays big again.

  7. September 26, 2012 at 11:33 am

    They lured me in with some promised content that I found interesting. But if they drop sessions, that would be a serious bait and switch that I would not take kindly.

    If there’s low turnout, that’s fine for me – I’ll get more discussion time and more access to anyone I want/need to talk to.

  8. John Young
    September 26, 2012 at 11:39 am

    may work out great for you then, but you won’t see many teachers, mostly admin and wonks. Have fun, I guess.

  9. Coolspringer
    September 26, 2012 at 1:19 pm

    John, I can definitely understand your POV! …it is a policy event, and it does say a lot about the state of ed policy that it is scheduled in a way that is less welcoming to educators and administrators as it is to policymakers, researchers (and vendors). I have gone as media, but found my parent side piqued. Which is not to say I am always swayed/psyched by what I am hearing – I just like to hear it for myself from the horse’s mouth and to see where the various policy-brokers are coming from. These conversations are happening and the policies are continuing with the teachers & parents there or not.

    It’s also heavily attended by nonprofit (my sector) and governance types so I see familiar faces, find it informative and am happy to lose desk time and be the one to share what I’ve heard. Last year I handed the folder right off to the school principal and we had a frank discussion about it all. So as long as one keeps it in perspective, I don’t find it irrelevant or a waste of time.

  10. John Young
    September 26, 2012 at 6:11 pm

    I hear you Coolspringer, it’s just way to unbalanced and the topics to wonky and impractical to make a difference in our schools to earn my time.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
