Home > Uncategorized > Comment period on education regulations ends October 1

Comment period on education regulations ends October 1

September 25, 2012

The Delaware Department of Education held its final regulatory review meeting on August 23, but you can still submit your comments in writing until October 1. Teachers, educators, parents – The Department of Education wants to know:

Do you have specific ideas about regulations that should be modified or eliminated? If so, we want to hear from you.

Click here for the comment submission form.

I attended the August 23 meeting at the New Castle County Government Center, and it was lightly attended, considering the number of teachers in the county. There were a few teachers, Rep. Mike Ramone, Kendall Massett of the Charter School Network, and representatives from the Governor’s office and DOE. Also a few people I didn’t recognize (and unfortunately didn’t get a chance to talk to at the conclusion of the meeting). Secretary of Education Mark Murphy presided in a listening role.

As I understood Executive Order 36, the value of the meetings was to focus on regulations, and identify those issues that the agency could fix on its own. While the meeting was a great chance to network, and to meet some of these players in a small one-on-one setting, there wasn’t a big focus on regulations.

Ron Russo led off with his thoughts on charter schools and DOE structural organization, which I wouldn’t have missed for the world.

Mike Matthews then brought up three great ideas:

Mike Ramone spoke and asked what the General Assembly could do to help. I thought this was a great point, but apparently nobody including myself was prepared with an answer. However, Mike Matthews’s points about class size waivers and district reconfiguration are in the General Assembly’s domain, but neither will be quick fixes. Ramone also asked whether legislative changes would be needed to enable distance learning, which I thought was an interesting comment.

I spoke and made the point that while I am not a teacher, I am very interested in reducing teachers’ reporting and paperwork burden, but that we would need teachers to speak up to identify the tasks, forms, and reports that make up this burden. Only then could we begin to reduce or eliminate them via the regulatory process. I also pointed out that we now had sufficent technology to automate or streamline a lot of paperwork and reporting, if we began a process reengineering effort to identify tasks that could be better done by technology.

I was surprised not to hear Kendall Massett speak up with a list of regulations that charter schools were seeking to be exempted from. She and Greg Meece have both been quoted to the effect that since the charter law was passed, new regulations have been passed and have accumulated on charter schools, which (they feel) is opposed to the “original intent” of the charter law. I was hoping to hear a list of those regulations. A few days after the meeting I contacted Ms. Massett, but we were unable to schedule a meeting to discuss her thoughts on original intent.

The Governor’s report on the Executive Order 36 hearings for all agencies is due next June.

  1. John Young
    September 25, 2012 at 9:11 pm

    any particular supporting evidence for removing Christina from Wilmington as a “great idea” as opposed to removing RCCSD, Brandywine or Colonial?

  2. Mike Matthews
    September 26, 2012 at 2:29 pm

    For me that was just meant as a conversation starter. As the only non-contiguous school district in the country (I believe), I just don’t see why they’re there. Well, I guess I can understand the basic premise of why they’re there, but it’s ridiculous to me to leave the gym at 5:45 in the morning and seeing kids waiting for a bus to haul them out to Glasgow. I think we need to reevaluate everything about education in the City of Wilmington.

  3. John Young
    September 26, 2012 at 7:03 pm

    us and Hawaii 🙂

    Oh for the wisdom of the judiciary…

  4. October 9, 2012 at 9:49 am

    Thanks for your recap. I should have included it in my EO36 post so I will update with a link. EO36 is largely viewed as an opportunity for bureaucrats to pick apart the law according to the squeaky well-heeled and politically connected wish-lists.

  5. October 9, 2012 at 10:31 am

    I was definitely surprised by all the dogs that didn’t bark at this meeting.

  6. John Young
    October 11, 2012 at 7:28 pm

    were you really surprised?

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
