Home > Uncategorized > HAC attack!

HAC attack!

August 29, 2012

Home Access Center is out of control! My son has been marked absent for his first two Spanish classes this week – but the schedule they gave him doesn’t even have him taking Spanish this marking period! HAC is apparently either not handling the new block scheduling, or has been handed bad data. I called the school and heard there were other scheduling problems as well.

Then, I just now got a robocall from school telling me my son was absent the whole day yesterday and would I please send in a note? (he wasn’t absent). HAC (eSchoolPLUS) also handles attendance.

Oh, and all the DCAS scores have once again been wiped out.

And it’s too soon to tell if the DOE data gurus have completed their summer homework, which was to fix the HAC usage reporting problem. It’s on my to-do list to find out what’s been done on that front. It would be nice if someone would drop by here and let me know.

Get your head in the game, guys, you’ve had all summer for maintenance and QA!!! Get on the horn with SunGard if necessary, and figure out what’s going on!

By the way, to access HAC log in here. Your new password should have come in a mailer a week or two before school started (at least that’s how it works in Red Clay). If you can’t access HAC, call your school office.

Note: These are my Red Clay centric observations, so let me know if you have a different experience.

And remember why I’m always going on about HAC: Because it’s a parent involvement tool, and deserves more respect!

  1. concerned parent
    August 29, 2012 at 8:24 pm

    Hey – I just checked for my kid at PS duPont. Our DCAS scores from previous years are there. I know she had DCAS Math today so I went on and checked – today’s aren’t uploaded yet. I guess HAC is very district specific. BSD shut it down on the last day of school for fear that parents might get their kids report cards off of it and not pay their school fines (horror!). Just what I love about public education – punish the masses for the transgressions of the few!

    On another note I heard there was the big roll out of the dashboards today – didn’t see anything about it in the blogoshere – I couldn’t make it. Were you there?

  2. August 29, 2012 at 11:13 pm

    No, I wasn’t at any dashboard rollout event. Was there an actual event? Or just another press release?

    I recently learned BSD isn’t required to enter assignments into HAC, only end-of-marking-period grades. Is this the case? Do some teachers not enter assignments?

  3. John Young
    September 3, 2012 at 6:53 pm

    Reblogged this on Transparent Christina.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
