Home > Uncategorized > Red Clay sample ballot

Red Clay sample ballot

February 5, 2012

Here’s the link to the Department of Elections information page about the Red Clay referendum, with info in English and Spanish, including info on polling places and eligibility: http://electionsncc.delaware.gov/Red_Clay/rc_ref.shtml.

The Department of Elections site also includes a link to a sample ballot. The sample ballot clearly shows that there are two lines on the ballot: one for the renovations across the district ($98 million, including $20 million for city schools), and another line for construction of the new suburban school (about $20 million).

  1. Kilroysdelaware
    February 5, 2012 at 10:32 am

    “You may vote in this election if you:
    Are a U.S. and Delaware citizen;
    Are 18 years old; and
    Live in the Red Clay Consolidated School District”

    Nothing in Delaware law or U.S. law requires a person voting in local school board election or referendums requires them to be U.S. citizens.
    http://kilroysdelaware.wordpress.com/2012/02/01/red-clay-referendum-e-mail-and-referendum-ballot-inaccurate/

    None these ID requirements is proof on U.S. citizenship
    3) Work ID card with photo and address; or
    (1) Delaware driver’s license;
    (2) Delaware ID card;
    (4) U.S. postal material

    But it’s a technical error on the Department of Elections. Illegal immigrants are in Red Clay schools and surely those parents pay rent to a landlord are paying school taxes factored in their rent payments.

  2. February 5, 2012 at 11:02 am

    Good point Kilroy… actually as I recall this was mentioned at the presentation I attended, and I forgot to mention it.

  3. February 5, 2012 at 12:49 pm

    Why do you keep carving out/highlighting the “20 million for city schools?” Are existing RCCD city schools different from other RCCD existing schools? What is your point?

    Sorry, but this bothers me.

  4. February 5, 2012 at 3:03 pm

    Because of questions like this: “Why would any city resident vote for this referendum? ”

    I think the answer is: To help fix up city schools. $20 million is not much money in the face of all the other needs city schools have, but as a capital project it is not bad. That’s why I support it.

    I think the point of your post was that the arrival of a new suburban school historically has some negative effects on city schools, chiefly increasing the percentage of low-income students. You are correct to point out the correlation, but correlation is not necessarily causation.

    Why would it bother you for someone to break out the details of the spending? Those details are in fact the answer to your question. I haven’t seen anyone else doing that, so I thought it was important, in this discussion where the interests of city vs. suburbs are so much in play.

    I also thought it was important to make it known that there were two lines. I think that fact has been lost too often. So I just wanted to put the sample ballot into as many hands as possible.

    What bothers me is that Red Clay as well as referendum skeptics are not doing a great job communicating that there are two lines on the ballot that can be voted separately. Both sides are taking advantage of the city vs. suburbs dynamic for their own ends. In fact, I can’t find any mention of the two-line ballot in Red Clay communications at all. On Red Clay’s site voteredclay.org, the link to the sample ballot is broken as of this writing.

    When you wrote your DL post and posed your questions, did you know there were two lines? I didn’t. I didn’t know until the comments came in. And I had sat through a District presentation.

    I still don’t know how I feel about the new school. I am seriously thinking about taking the position “Not one more dime for the suburbs until the city gets the help it needs.” I can’t argue with anyone who feels that way. The arguments for the suburban school seem valid, but I think the city should have first call on District money. Or better yet, we should do both.

    I like the analysis Jack W. posted on DL about possible alternative plans to shift suburban students to unused capacity, assuming he is correct. I hadn’t heard about any of those ideas. Thanks for doing the capacity analysis.

  5. February 5, 2012 at 3:44 pm

    Whoa… sorry. I didn’t realize this post was about my question concerning city residents. I thought it was about the referendum ballot. 😉

  6. February 5, 2012 at 4:18 pm

    I guess I faked you out with my cleverly titled post and links to the ballot. I can be tricky like that 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
